Loading Events

July 31 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

The Origin of Flick Ford

How does one become a modern day illustrator of fish? And why are these prints important to our eco system?

 

 

Please join us on Saturday, July 31 to find out. Introduction by Captain Ed Everich, captains the tug out of New London, CT.

“Flick Ford’s pictures, though realistic, have a certain spiritual quality. His drawings are informed by the spirit of the angler.. of fish as I have dreamed them. What Flick has captured so clearly, yet so subtly is that we experience these creatures as if they had personalities.”  – Peter Kaminsky, The New York Times

After Ford’s exhibition in 2015 at the Academy of Natural Science in Philadelphia, his taxonomic plates published by Greenwich Workshop Press Books (division of Workman Publishing) became extremely popular. In the tradition of  American James John Audubon and David Allen Sibley, Flick’s “parlor conversation starters” will be on view and discussed. What makes a distinct illustration of the striped bass? lobster? What can one learn from illustrations of fish about our natural habitats?

R A F F L E

Ticket holders will be eligible to a win an out of print coffee table book of Flick Ford’s “77 Great Fish of North America” illustrations, bait tips, tales, recipes, map distributions of species, and excerpts of great literature on fish. $75 value

Purchase Tickets

Please put in your number of attendees

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Venue

BoP Gallery
289 Narrow Lane
Charlestown, Rhode Island 02813
Phone:
914-450-9598
View Venue Website
50 things to see in the sky

RELATED EVENTS

No related events.

Stay Updated on New Events at Books On The Pond

No spam, we promise.

Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.